Title: Carnisaur Question?
Description: One mean bite.
Prometheus - February 25, 2009 04:55 AM (GMT)
Me and a buddy where having a game the other day and something happened that we disagreed on. The situation revolved around his Carnisaur (aka Super Awesome Killer Supreme) hitting a unit of Zombies. We'll he only hit two of them (1 always miss) and wounded them, but then he somehow killed 5 of them.
I was really confused. Apparently the Carnisaur has a special rule where for ever wound it causes becomes d3 wounds. Now I am aware of several different pieces of wargear (magical and otherwise) that cause exra wounds to a model if it doesnt save the orginal wound. But I read the rules for the Carnisaur and it does not specifically state anything about the model that was hit by the orginal attack.
This means the Carnisaur can kill guys he didn't even hit. I personally think that this is a simple misprint/error in the rules. Wat do you guys think?
Battle Brother Loken - February 25, 2009 05:20 AM (GMT)
this only applys to large targets as the carni only hunts big things
so unless they are zombie gaints then it dosent work
BaleWolf - February 25, 2009 06:47 AM (GMT)
Yah, all it means is that it's doing d3 wounds against each zombie, and since each zombie only has one wound it doesn't matter, since the wounds aren't going to overlap.
It's like when a Tyranid warrior with an implant attack hitting a guardsman. Sure it deals him 2 wounds with one hit... but it's completely pointless since he only has one wound.
Prometheus - February 25, 2009 11:52 PM (GMT)
Well that was my understanding of the rules however the Carnisaur (under the brand new codex) says it does d3 wounds to anything it wounds not just other monsters like in the old book. It also never states that it does d3 wounds to the model it hits just ever wound it causes becomes d3.
I am on the side that thinks it just does d3 wounds to the guy(thing) that it hits but my opponent, the lizardmen player disagree's. He sites the wording of the rule as meaning that it can kill more guys in a unit then it hits.
Hellwolve - June 30, 2011 10:04 AM (GMT)
BaleWolf is right. However it's worded, we can agree he does D3 wounds, sure, but it still needs to hit ;)
Eon_Kull - June 30, 2011 08:10 PM (GMT)
Your "buddy" is a terrible, terrible rules lawyer. I generally stop playing with them myself, leading to a pretty limited group of friends that I play with, but never having to worry about having a bad game. The intent of the rule is pretty clear even if the wording isn't: massive jaw strength = more damage on a hit; not extra hits.
[Edit] I re-read your second post. It's even more clear what it means if it states that it does D3 wounds to models it wounds. Un-hit models were never wounded.
Geronimo82 - July 18, 2011 08:38 PM (GMT)
Prometheus: Look at page 45 (big rulebook, donno little one), it deals with inflicting casualties. Upper right paragraph deals with weapons dealing multiple wounds. Paraphrased: your friend was pulling a fast one. Its example was multiple 1 wound attacks were like a volley of arrows and a single multiple wound attack was a cannon ball.
If all else fails, say your zombie infect anything that they come in contact with and as such eating your zombies gives you control of the carnisaur. :thumbup: